Leonard woke and rubbed his head. A few too many last night at the annual Spring Harvest festival. He should have steered clear of the cider.

He put his hand in his pocket to find his watch missing. He must have dropped it on the way home last night.

***

Emily looked at the huge metal disc lodged in her front garden. Every minute the huge arm ticked round with a mighty clang. She would have to get in touch with the local council to have it removed.

‘Every year the same,’ she muttered, sweeping the garden path. ‘Pesky giants.’


jennifer-pendergast5
© Jennifer Pendergast

Written as part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE). The idea is to write a short story of 100 words based on the photo prompt (above).

To read stories of 100 words based on this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

86 thoughts on “THE GIANT’S POCKET WATCH

  1. Such an annoying bunch, I tell you–can’t steal their stuff or kill (well, I guess one can if one’s Jack and comes across some questionable beans).

    This is so delicious. Not just the chuckle the story produces at the end, but the thoughts it brings to mind. How it reminds us that our casual nonsense can mean serious consequences for others.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. haha I love this!

    I like that I wasn’t aware that the first person was a giant until the end and I was a bit like hang on this is a different story 🙂 Also now I have read it and thought about it, it feels very BFG (from the bits of the film I’ve seen)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This made me laugh and did remind me of Gulliver which I studied for my thesis at Uni. Originally a satire intended for adults there’s quite a lot of words dedicated to the problems the Lilliputians had when he defecated. They didn’t have enough wheelbarrows and carts to cope with shifting it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Funny take – and yes, that does look a bit like a giant’s watch! Drunken giants would be quite pesky indeed; the little people are lucky he didn’t miss and stomp on their house. There should be a law! (I say, thumping my cane on the floor.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

