Agnes pulled off her heels and rubbed her aching feet. Should’ve gone for the flats. All evening traipsing round the Museum of Art at the new exhibition entitled ‘Interactive Art’.

Archie struggled in the door with the massive canvas he had purchased. He came through the door sideways, carefully maneuvering round the corner. He took a confident step forward to grandly show off the abstract work.

His foot tripped over Agnes’ discarded shoes. Archie stumbled forward, teetered for a moment, then plunged headfirst towards the fireplace.

Agnes looked at Archie’s head sticking through the canvas.

‘Interactive Art, right enough,’ she said.

shoes-and-books-by-magaly-guerrero
Copyright Magaly Guerrero

Written as part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE). The idea is to write a short story of 100 words based on the photo prompt (above).

To read stories of 100 words based on this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

This month I am taking part in the A to Z Challenge 2017 – a post each day based on the letters of the alphabet and a theme. You can visit my A TO Z CHALLENGE 2017 page here to read the story.

As this challenge will take up a lot of my blogging time I may not get round to commenting on everyone’s posts, but I hope to find time to read all your stories as usual, and still be able to participate in Friday Fictioneers each week.

61 thoughts on “INTERACTIVE ART

  1. I keep thinking about that last line and giggling. Of course, it’s not at all funny – he could have done himself a terrible injury! But, oh! It’s impossible to contain the laughter. Great writing, Iain.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m visiting my parents in Southwestern Utah for a few days. My Dad has cancer and feels very weak. This morning he was in a chair and fell over. My Mom tried to help but she fell too. Fortunately, she was fine (a previous fall left her with spinal issues for a while), but Dad was too weak to get up. Fortunately I was here to help.

    It wasn’t interactive art, but it certainly was challenging.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha 😂😂 that was a break from all that crime! But I can’t wait to read your next post. I’ve finally managed to catch​ up and now I’ll be anxiously waiting the next part. Hmm I wonder if the next part has anything to do with a queen..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my …. this was too funny … and … sad. I’m sure Archie will be sorry he broke through the canvas. BUT … he didn’t fall into the fireplace flames.
    I suppose he can be grateful the painting helped avoid that. I enjoyed this very much, lain.
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

