The cars started rolling slowly to embark the ferry. They had been waiting for an hour watching the rain drum down.

Jessica rolled her eyes as Dad launched into another rendition of ‘Summer Holiday.’

Mum had got out the car and walked aboard. Her parents still weren’t talking after the argument over directions. Her brother sat staring at a video on his phone.

Two weeks camping in rainy Normandy again this year. Her best friend, Lucille, was flying to Disneyland tomorrow.

Next year she would be old enough to go away with her friends. She would miss her family holidays.


ted-struts-in-the-rain
Copyright Ted Strutz

Written as part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE). The idea is to write a short story of 100 words based on the photo prompt (above).

To read stories of 100 words based on this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

83 thoughts on “FAMILY HOLIDAY

  1. Neat stuff, Iain. Who knows what’s going on with people we see passing by? Well-thought out characters, too. It put me in the story.
    Great job, sir! Five out of five “I-get-to-go-to-Disneylands!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. More weary travelers returning home. As Joni Mitchel says “Don’t it always seem to go. That you don’t know what you got till it’s gone.” Nice take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Will she miss them I wonder? Sounds like she can’t wait to get away. Though there is something about family holidays that are just so… so common. We all react in a similar way I think

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great story Ian, so true to life. I wonder whether, in 30 or 40 years, Jessica will remember the rain or claim (as so many do) that the sun shone brightly every day during the summer holidays “when we were kids”. Sadly I’m one of the miserable ones who remembers having to wear a parka in August!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can relate to this. I was so happy when at sixteen I didn’t have to go on family holidays. At the same time, I missed them. And I think all parents tend to argue on vacation — at least mine did. Now As an adult I have vacationed with my parents and my friends too. It’s nice to mix it up. Great write!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sometimes it’s good to miss things. Hopefully she’ll still have a good time – there ‘s lots of hanging around at Disneyland. My brother and I spent out summers being driven to and around France. I remember them as good, he remembers feeling carsick, we both remember the rows over directions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

