Lise blinked as the light glinted in the small window. The sheet beneath her was cool against her skin.

She lay on her side and watched the sun play on her pale flesh. Lifting her hand she placed it on her stomach. Auguste would notice the broadening abdomen soon.

Today he promised to finish. He had gone ahead to begin without her. She could tell he was pleased with the painting although they would never accept it at the Salon.

Putting on her peignoir she wandered outside. The bright sun warmed her as she followed the path through the trees. Her spirits lifted as she felt the new life growing inside her.


diana
Diana, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, 1868
janet-webb-french-still-life
Copyright Janet Webb

Written as part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE). The idea is to write a short story of 100 words based on the photo prompt (above).

To read stories of 100 words based on this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

Lise Trehot modelled for most of Pierre-Auguste Renoir‘s early works and was rumoured to have been his mistress. She is believed to have given birth to a boy, Pierre, in 1868, but it is unclear what became of him. In 1870 she gave birth to a girl, Jeanne, who Renoir supported financially for the rest of his life. After she stopped posing for Renoir, Lise never spoke to him again, and Renoir never mentions her in any memoirs or interviews.

 

103 thoughts on “DIANA

  1. Seriously, Iain, I’m impressed. I really loved reading this. I’m always a sucker for the great artists. I wasn’t aware of Diana by Renoir, but it’s been a LONG time since school. I think I need to go to an art gallery soon, I have the time now.

    Five out of five bare bow-arms.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great writing and I also appreciated the explanation. There have been some interesting explanations to the ones I’ve read so far and it’s great to have my brain cells stretched.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was beautifully written. Loved the sun playing on her skin. Your addition about Renoir gave your story even more depth.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Terrific! I loved the mix of fact and fiction in this one. I never knew that he had an art model who figured so prominently in his paintings so thanks for that link too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This was a very revealing tale even though it was a short 100 words. Nicely completed … the footnote just added a bit of personal insight. It’s unfortunate they never spoke and he never mentioned her again. One has to wonder … don’t one?
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I like the dreamy quality of this story. Before reading the footnote, I picked up on the fact that the painting was a nude portrait of the narrator, but thought that the gallery objected to exhibiting pregnant nudes on its wall. Then I saw your footnote, and understood. A very interesting bit of history that was new to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Fabulous story. I’m a huge impressionist art fan and I love Renoir , Monet, etc. The theory of colorand light behind there art abs the visible paint strokes is wonderful. I do recall about this mistress, it’s quite possible the baby died or was never acknowledged so he was never written about. But at least he supported his daughter. I wonder why she never spoke to hi again (his mistress) if things simply ended for them, or if it was something he’d done. Great story Ian.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I got that feeling 🙂 I can remember if I’m mixing Renoir/Degas up but about 10 yrs ago I saw this wonderful exhibition at the Musee des Beaux Arts in Quebec City, it had paintings but the impressionist sculpture this artist did was simply amazing too. As good the paintings in a different way though. Very find work but somehow that same artistic flare.
        Cheers Ian have a good week 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

