‘Put your hand in.’

Charlie hesitated and looked into the dark hole in the rock.

What was the worst that could happen? It’s just a rock, he told himself.

Legend said it was the skull of an old dinosaur. Another said medieval warriors proved their strength by striking it with their sword. Others believed it was linked to witchcraft, a dark portal to a world of spirits and ghouls.

‘Prove you’re not scared.’

Charlie took a deep breath and shoved his hand into the black crater.

The disturbed adder struck the soft flesh and buried its fangs into the invading arm.


ceayr2

Written as part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE). The idea is to write a short story of 100 words based on the photo prompt (above).

To read stories of 100 words based on this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

96 thoughts on “SNAKE BITE

  1. You call that a snake bite? You’re talking to an Australian here.
    Eastern brown snake? Now, that’s a snake. (You might recall a scene from “Crocodile Dundee”.
    My husband is almost levitating out of his chair as he reads out Australian snake bite stats and also roars with laughter when he reads that bees, ticks, and other arthropods were responsible for the same number of deaths in Australia as snakes.
    I really enjoyed your story and it felt very real.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That and the spiders – why I’ll probably never emigrate to Australia! Adders are the only venomous snakes in the UK, and are usually only in the south of England, so I should be safe! Thanks Rowena – I will look at the link on snake bites through my fingers….!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. My husband takes great delight in scaring tourists and foreignors about our wildlife. I must admit, I do it to and it is a bit of an Australian past time. My husband grew up on a farm in Tasmania and he does have quite a few impressive snake and wildlife stories. I’ve had it easy.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Very true to life, both the dare and its consequence. As you’ve opted to avoid a twist by choosing the title ‘Snake Bite’, the storyline and/or the description have to do the work. I think they do, and rather well! Nice one, Iain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah, the tragedy of showing off in front of your friends. How many young people have come a cropper doing that? Well told tale, Iain. Let’s hope they’re close to somewhere with some anti-venom.

    Like

  4. The worst that can happen is often the thing you didn’t even think about in your calculations. Maybe he’ll think twice (er, three times? more times?) before going along with the next dare.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I grew up around adders; as children we were encouraged to hunt them! So your story title works for me

    Like

  6. great story. when i was a kid, i put my hand into a hole on the ground just for curiosity’s sake. as soon as i felt something moved, i pulled it off. thanks goodness, i survived leaving me to wonder what it could have been. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Perfect ending, Iain! You didn’t go the monster route. I grew up in the woods, so snakes and I leave each other alone. You learn respect for the great outdoors. Super story-telling!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I never was big on dares. Especially, the double-dog dare variety. I’m even more scared of snakes. Especially the disturbed variety. Perhaps the snake should go to counseling.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was concerned when you said ours were ‘alike’. I freaked when i saw we had the same character name. I swear, i had not read yours before i wrote mine, so either we have the same muse or just think alike. At least my snake was different. Anyway, great story as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Are adders are the only subtracters in UK?
    Growing up in remote army cantonments in India I have plenty of memories. Like discovering a cobra under the bed. Cobras, vipers, pythons, kraits I’ve seen them all. And then I moved to Australia, sigh…..

    Nice story though, a very believable scenario.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

