The power saw sliced through the panel at the wrong angle.

‘Dammit.’ The latest mishap during the garage renovation.

The myna bird laughed. Definitely a laugh this time.

Three days it had perched, mocking his every calamity.

‘Funny, is it?’ he asked. The yellow beak cachinnated.

He put some seed in his hand. The myna cocked it’s head and hopped towards him.

He grabbed it tight.

‘Think it’s funny now?’ he asked as he turned the power saw back on.

***

Two operations later his thumb was reattached.

There was a flash of yellow and a cackle at the hospital window.


myna-bird
Copyright Douglas M. McIlroy

Written as part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE). The idea is to write a short story of 100 words based on the photo prompt (above).

To read stories of 100 words based on this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

127 thoughts on “TO KILL A MOCKING BIRD

  1. Lol! As scr4pl80 says, wringing was a logical option, but men and tools . . . I think the lesson here is to always use the proper tool for the job. I would have recommended the garrotte. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks CE. There is an added ‘space’ in the title that changes the meaning of it from the more illustrious original. It’s the little things that make me smile 🙂

      Like

  2. Loved the story, with the surprise funny ending. I’m going to buck the trend and side with the DIYer, though, mainly because I hate anyone watching and offering “feedback” when I’m trying to be a handyman. Also, I lived in South Africa for a while (post-apartheid) and the mynah is an introduced species which has become a pest, wreaking havoc with native birds. I think the same problem affects Australia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean about someone watching you while you work, so annoying. I think the mynah has a bad reputation in quite a few countries for being introduced and then causing problems.

      Like

      1. Funnily enough I got the sharp end of my wife’s tongue tonight, for hovering while she was printing some photos. I should practise what I preach.
        The mynas are in a similar position to the grey squirrel, I suppose.
        That said, after I’d posted my earlier comment, I realised the irony of a white European like me commenting on the impact of introduced species on indigenous ones. Best to move on?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. LOL. Hoist by his own, methinks. Okay so the bird was annoying, but a bad workman is always a bad workman. I loved seeing your fun side in this. And thanks for the new word; now where to use it….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

